

READING COMPREHENSION

• Read carefully the following text and choose the correct answer to the questions below:

Ronaldo, Ribery & Messi on Ballon d'Or shortlist as Bale misses out

Cristiano Ronaldo, Franck Ribery and Lionel Messi are on the three-man shortlist for the 2013 Ballon d'Or. The trio was chosen from the 23-man list, which included Gareth Bale; and the world player of the year will be revealed on 13th January.

Barcelona's Messi has won four years in a row but Real Madrid forward Ronaldo is the favourite to win this year.

Fifa has also confirmed the final three for coach of the year - with former Manchester United boss, Sir Alex Ferguson, vying with ex-Bayern Munich coach, Jupp Heynckes, and Borussia Dortmund's, Jurgen Klopp, for the award.

The winners, to be announced at a ceremony in Zurich, will be decided by a vote among the captains and head coaches of all Fifa affiliated men's national teams, as well as by international media representatives selected by France Football magazine.

France Football introduced the Ballon d'Or in 1956 to honour the European footballer of the year, with England's Stanley Matthews the first winner.

In 2007 the award became a world player award and three years later it merged with Fifa's own world player honour.

Barcelona and Argentina forward, Messi, 26, has won every year since the merger, but Real Madrid and Portugal star, Ronaldo, 28, emerged as the favourite after his fifth hat-trick of the season sent Portugal to the World Cup at the expense of Sweden last month.

Bayern Munich and France winger, Ribery, 30, had previously been considered a leading contender after winning the treble with his club last season.

Hours after the Portugal-Sweden game ended, however, Fifa extended the voting period from 15th November to 29th November after saying fewer than 50% of eligible voters had responded before the original deadline.

Aside from Bale, five other Premier League players failed to make the cut from the initial 23 - Arsenal midfielder, Mesut Özil; Chelsea forward, Eden Hazard; Liverpool striker, Luis Suárez; Manchester City midfielder, Yaya Toure, and Manchester United striker, Robin van Persie.

Fifa has also confirmed the final nominees for the FIFPro World XI 2013, a team of the year.

The British candidates are England defenders, Leighton Baines and Ashley Cole; midfielder, Steven Gerrard; striker, Wayne Rooney; and Wales forward, Bale.

The other Premier League nominees are: Chelsea's Petr Cech, Branislav Ivanovic and David Luiz; Manchester City's Vicent Kompany, Pablo Zabaleta, Toure and Sergio Agüero; Manchester United's Nemanja Vidic and Van Persie; Arsenal's Özil and Liverpool's Suárez.

Questions

- 1. The origin of the current Ballon d'Or...
- a. Comes from the Ballon d'Or introduced by France in 1956.
- b. Comes from the merger of the Ballon d'Or introduced by France in 1956 and the FIFA's own world player award.
- c. Comes from the FIFA's own world player honour.
- 2. Ronaldo is the favourite to win this season Ballon d'Or ...
- a. Because he is playing for Real Madrid and Bale is not on the Ballon d'Or shortlist.
- b. Because he is younger than Bayern Munich and France winger, Ribery.
- c. Because he scored a hat-trick in the match that Portugal played against Sweden.
- 3. Fifa extended the voting period until 29th of November because...
- a. Less than 50% of voters had responded before the first deadline.
- b. They wanted Messi to win.
- c. They wanted Ribery to win.
- 4. Which Premier League players failed to be in the 23-man list?
- a. Mesut Özil, Eden Hazard, Luis Suárez, Yaya Toure and Robin van Persie.
- b. Leighton Baines, Ashely Cole, Steven Gerrard, Wayne Rooney and Bale.
- c. Mesut Özil, Eden Hazard, Luis Suárez, Yaya Toure, Robin van Persie and Bale.



- 5. Petr Cech, Branislav Ivanovic, David Luiz, Vicent Kompany, Pablo Zabaleta, Toure, Sergio Agüero, Nemanja Vidic, Van Persie, Özil and Suárez are...
- a. Players from the 23-man list prepared for the Ballon d'Or honour.
- b. Nominees for the FIFPro World XI 2013.
- c. British candidates nominees for the FIFPro World XI 2013.

