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READING COMPREHENSION 

Read the following questions and choose the correct answers: 

1. Can a goalkeeper score a goal with his hands from his 
own penalty area in either of the two goals? 
 a) Yes, always 

b) No, never 
c) Yes, as long as the ball is in play. 
d) No, only in the goal of the opposing team.  2. The assistant referee indicates that the ball has gone out 

of play after an attacker kicked it out. After the flag 
signal, a defender strikes an opponent with his fist using 
excessive force. What decision should the referee take? 
 a) The referee sends off the defender for violent conduct and 
awards a penalty kick. 

b) The ball was out of play. The referee sends off the defender for 
violent conduct and the play is restarted with a throw-in, goal 
kick or corner kick. 

c) The referee decides that the ball was out of play, sends off the 
defender for serious foul play and the play is restarted with an 
indirect free kick. 

d) None of the previous answers is correct.  3. A goal is scored directly from a throw-in by an opponent. 
What decision should the referee take? 
 a) The referee awards the goal. 

b) The referee disallows the goal and orders the throw-in retaken. 
c) The referee disallows the goal and awards a throw-in to the 

opposing team. 
d) The referee disallows the goal and awards a goal kick. 

 

 4. Can the assistant referee enter the field of play to check 
if the defenders’ wall in 10 yards. (9.15 m.) from the 
ball? 
 

a) No 
b) Yes, always 
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c) Yes, as long as the free kick is given near the touch line and the 
referee is aware the assistant referee is entering the field of 
play. 

d) It is at the referee’s discretion.   5. Which of the following offences committed when the ball 
is in play is not penalized with a direct free kick? 
 a) Pushing an opponent 

b) Violent conduct against a team-mate provided that the action 
occurs within the field of play. 

c) Charging an opponent 
d) Holding an opponent  6. Two players from different teams commit simultaneous 

offences inside the penalty area of one of the teams. 
What decision should the referee take? 
 a) The referee restarts the play with a dropped ball from where 
the ball was when the play was stopped. 

b) The referee penalizes the most serious offence and takes 
disciplinary action if necessary according to the offences. 

c) The referee takes disciplinary action if necessary according to 
the offences and restarts the play with a dropped ball from 
where the ball was at the moment the play was stopped.  

d) The referee allows the play to continue and takes disciplinary 
action only if necessary according to the offences when the ball 
is next out of play. 
 7. For a direct or indirect free kick taken by the defending 
team from inside their own penalty area, indicate which 
of the following statements is not correct. 
 a) All the opponents should be 9.15 metres from the ball. 

b) The ball will be in play at the moment that it is kicked directly 
out of the penalty area. 

c) All the opponents should stay out of the penalty area until the 
ball is in play. 

d) If the free kick has been awarded inside the goal area, it can be 
retaken from any point within that area.  
 8. A player is preparing to kick off before the match when a 
team-mate strikes a player from the opposing team. Is it 
right that the player is sent off and his team plays with 
10 players? 
 a) No, never 

b) Yes 
c) No, the team can replace the player with one of the named 

substitutes. If it has no substitutes, it is correct for the team to 
play with 10 players.  

d) None of the answers is correct.  
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9. At a dropped ball, after the ball has touched the ground 
but before being touched by any player, a defender 
inside his own penalty area spits at an opponent inside 
the penalty arc. What decision should the referee take? 
 a) The referee sends off the defender and has the dropped ball 
retaken. 

b) The referee sends off the defender and awards a penalty kick to 
the opposing team. 

c) The referee sends off the defender and awards a direct free kick 
to the opposing team from where the opponent was.  

d) The referee sends off the defender and awards an indirect free 
kick to the opposing team from where the player was inside the 
penalty arc.  
 10. During kicks from the penalty mark to determine 
the winner of a match or competition, one goal becomes 
defective, can the other goal be used? 
 a) No, the kicks from the penalty mark should be abandoned. 

b) Yes, provided that the captains from both teams agree. 
c) Yes, always 
d) Yes, provided that the coaches of both teams agree.  


